Speeding Ticket and Traffic Defense FAQs2021-11-10T11:29:51-05:00

Speeding Ticket and Traffic Defense FAQs

Hear directly from the Traffic Defense Attorneys of Dummit Fradin as they answer the most frequently asked questions about speeding tickets and other moving violations.

Speeding Tickets and Traffic Defense

Should I Just Pay Off My Speeding Ticket?2021-11-10T11:16:31-05:00

No. When you simply pay off a speeding ticket, you lose the opportunity to plea and reduce the ticket. Reducing a ticket is imperative since they can not only cause insurance costs to rise, but they can also impact your ability to drive. For instance, if your ticket is for over 55mph and for 15mph or more over the posted speed limit, your license can be suspended. Further, if you accumulate twelve points on your license in three years, you can also have your license suspended. However, the consequences to commercial drivers are harsher, they can lose their license permanently. So, it’s never a good idea to simply pay a speeding ticket, call one of our experienced Traffic Attorneys whenever you get a speeding ticket and let us help.

What Are My Rights When I Am Pulled Over?2021-11-08T09:52:07-05:00

Criminal Defense Attorney Preston Edwards explains how your Constitutional rights apply to traffic stops. You should always be polite and respectful to law enforcement, however, you shouldn’t say anything incriminating about yourself, and you do not have to give your consent to a search of your vehicle. If you have been charged with a traffic violation or have a more serious criminal charge, give one of our Criminal Defense Attorneys a call. You have the right to the best defense possible, so always ask for an attorney!

Consequences Of And Options With a High-Speed Ticket2021-11-10T11:24:23-05:00

Criminal Attorney Patrick Apple discusses high-speed tickets in North Carolina.

  • What is a high-speed ticket?

If you are charged going over 80 mph or more than 15 mph over the speed limit, that is considered a high-speed ticket.

  • What are the consequences of a high-speed ticket?

The consequences of high-speed tickets in North Carolina include the loss of your license, exponential increases to insurance premiums over three years, and a criminal record since this is a class three misdemeanor.

  • What are my options if I have been charged with a high-speed ticket?

Often DAs will accept plea bargains for 9 mph over or 14 mph over, but you must be experienced enough to know where and whom to ask. Sometimes, you may be able to move for a prayer for judgment continued.

    • However, if your speed was more than 26 mph over the posted limit, you will not be eligible for this deal and you will likely lose your license.
  • Are there any other charges that accompany a high-speed ticket?

Typically, with a high-speed ticket, also comes a charge of careless and reckless driving. This is a class two misdemeanor.

    • At that point, it is extremely difficult to protect your license.
    • You will likely need to ask the judge for limited driving privileges, for which you must be qualified.
      • You have to be at least 19 years old, have a full license, and have a clean driving record until now.

As you can see, high-speed tickets can get extremely complicated and the consequences can be terrible, so it’s extremely important to have an experienced Traffic Attorney on your side! Give one of ours a call the next time you get pulled.

Careless and Reckless Driving Defense2021-11-10T11:26:53-05:00

A careless and reckless charge is more or less a judgment call on the part of the officer. However, a guilty verdict carries four points on your driving record and is a class two misdemeanor. Therefore, before paying it off or pleading guilty, see if there are holes in the state’s argument or see if they will offer a plea. Most DAs will instead of going to court. This could save even a first-time offender from supervised probation and, if you’ve accumulated more points on your license, it could save you from suspension. Most experienced Traffic Attorneys can handle a CNR with a letter from the insurance company right after a wreck, so it’s important to hire a good lawyer immediately. Contact one of ours today!

What Happens if You Get Caught Driving With a Revoked License?2021-11-10T11:28:56-05:00

Driving while your license is revoked is a class one misdemeanor in North Carolina. Even for a first-time offense, you could be facing up to 45 days of supervised probation. Multiple moving violations with a revoked license carry even stiffer penalties including a longer wait to get your license back or losing it permanently. However, “permanent” doesn’t mean forever! It simply means you have to schedule a hearing in front of a DMV Officer and your license will probably be subject to conditions before it will be restored fully. At Dummit Fradin, we can help. Give one of our experienced Traffic Defense Attorneys a call before you try and take on this complicated process by yourself.

Obtain the Legal Help You Need

Fill out the form below, or call (877) 978-3218 to request a consultation.

Are you a client?
Your consultation request has been submitted. A member of our legal team will be in touch shortly.
There was an error trying to send your message. Please try again later.

Visit One of Our Office Locations